ICONIP 2009 : 16th International Conference on Neural Information Processing
Bangkok, Thailand, December 1-5, 2009

Click for Bangkok, Thailand Forecast

Bangkok, Thailand


APNNA Outstanding Achievement Award
* For outstanding contribution in neuro-computing and related areas.
* The maximum number of person to be awarded each year is 1 person.
* The 2009 APNNA Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to
Prof. Soo-Young Lee for his outstanding work on Information Technology based on Neural Engineering.

ICONIP 2009 Awards

ICONIP 2009 Best Paper Award
Authors: Shiro Usui (RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan), Nilton L. Kamiji (RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Japan), Tatsuki Taniguchi (IVIS Inc., Japan), Naonori Ueda (NTT CS-Labs, Japan)
Title: RAST: A Related Abstract Search Tool

ICONIP 2009 Best Poster Award
Author: Naoyuki Sato (Future University - Hakodate, Japan)
Title: A Computational Model of Spatial Imagery Based on Object–Centered Scene Representation

INNS Best Student Paper Award
Authors: Jeong-Woo Woo (Kyungpook National University, Korea), Young-Chul Lim (Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science & Technology, Korea) and Minho Lee (Kyungpook National University, Korea)
Title: Obstacle Categorization Based on Hybridizing Global and Local Features

INNS Best Student Poster Award
Authors: Guénaël Cabanes and Younès Bennani (Université de Paris 13, France)
Title: Comparing Large Datasets Structures through Unsupervised Learning

ENNS Best Student Paper Awards
* There are two recipients of the Best ENNS Student Paper Awards in ICONIP 2009:

Authors: Esteban José Palomo, Enrique Dominguez, Rafael Marcos Luque, and José Muñoz (University of Malaga)
Title: Image Hierarchical Segmentation Based on a GHSOM

Authors: Matthieu Geist (Supélec, Metz, France), Olivier Pietquin (Arcelor Mittal Research, France), and Gabriel Fricout (INRIA Nancy, France)
Title: Tracking in Reinforcement Learning

ICONIP 2009 Student Grants

ICONIP 2009 Student Travel Grant
The following is the info on student travel grant for ICONIP 2009:
a) Criteria used by the scholarship committee to screen recipients are similar to previous practices. Namely, the recipient must be:

i) a full-time student at a higher education institution and provided us with proper recent official proof of student status;
ii) the first author of an ICONIP 2009 regular paper (unless specified otherwise) that has been accepted for oral presentation and among the top 15% submitted student papers;
iii) registered to attend and present the paper at ICONIP 2009.

b) The following is a list of students who would have received a travel grant when they attend and present their paper at ICONIP 2009:

PID# Name Affiliation
20 Ying Yu, Fudan University, China
25 Harya Widiputra, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
51 Jeong-Woo Woo, Kyungpook National University, Korea
54 Sangbok Choi, Kyungpook National University, Korea
89 Uwe Friederich, University of Sheffield, UK
95 Fady Alnajjar, University of Fukui, Japan
97 Zhuoyi Song, University of Sheffield, UK
101 Ahmet Cihan, Kocaeli University, Turkey
110 Daisuke Kaji, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
114 Yuta Ishikawa, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
122 Noppharit Tongprasit, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
149 Raphael Hu, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
150 Hillary Kipsang Choge, The University of Tokushima, Japan
151 Tadahiro Oyama, The University of Tokushima, Japan
155 Takuto Naito, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
156 Masao Takiguchi, Hosei University, Japan
171 Yang Xu, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
191 Camille Besse, Laval University, Canada
199 Shengli Song, Xidian University, China
250 Ligang Zhang, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
295 Wataru Fukuda, Kyoto University, Japan
302 Zeinab Farhoudi, Islamic Azad University Science and research, Iran
340 Hiroki Tomizawa, Kyoto University, Japan
347 Ning Lu, University of Technology, Sydney. Australia
378 Md. Monirul Kabir, University of Fukui, Japan
388 Xiaomei Xu, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
420 Kazi Shah Nawaz Ripon, University of Oslo, Norway

ICONIP 2009 Contact

TEL : +66-2470-9834
FAX : +66-2872-7145